



2009 Mercedes-Benz Championship

(The 1st of 37 events in the PGA TOUR Regular Season)

Kapalua, Maui, HI The Plantation Course Jan. 8-11, 2009

Purse: \$5,600,000 (\$1,120,000 to the winner)

Par/Yards: 36-37—73/7,411

Final-Round Notes – Sunday, January 11, 2009

Weather: Early morning inclement weather forced tee times to be moved back two hours and 15 minutes to 10:15 a.m. local time. Mostly cloudy skies the remainder of the day, with temperatures reaching 79. Winds SW 10-15 mph.

Despite bogeys on his first two holes, Geoff Ogilvy steadied the ship to record a 5-under 68 and a six-stroke victory over Anthony Kim and Davis Love III at the season-opening Mercedes-Benz Championship. The victory is the fifth of Ogilvy's career on the PGA TOUR, and comes just over a month since he won the Australian PGA Championship. The win is the first in wire-to-wire fashion since the Mercedes-Benz Championship moved to Kapalua in 1999.

The victory for Ogilvy is worth 500 points and moves him into the early lead in the season-long race for the FedExCup. 2008 FedExCup champion Vijay Singh wrapped up his 13th appearance at the Mercedes-Benz Championship with a T27 finish – his second finish in a row outside of the top 10 after six consecutive top-5 finishes (2001, 2003-07).

Geoff Ogilvy is the eighth consecutive foreign-born winner of the Mercedes-Benz Championship, joining Daniel Chopra (2008), Vijay Singh (2007), Stuart Appleby (2004-06), Ernie Els (2003) and Sergio Garcia (2002).

Geoff Ogilvy (67-68-65-68) becomes just the fifth player to record all four rounds in the 60s since the Mercedes-Benz Championship moved to The Plantation Course in 1999. The list includes David Duval (1999), Jim Furyk (2001), Ernie Els (2003), Tiger Woods (2005) and Ogilvy (2009). Incidentally, in two prior trips to the Mercedes-Benz Championship, Ogilvy had never posted a sub-70 round.

Winning the Mercedes-Benz Championship has traditionally sparked an outstanding season. 2008 champion Daniel Chopra is the only player out of the last 17 winners who failed to advance to THE TOUR Championship presented by Coca-Cola.

Ogilvy's six-stroke win is the third largest since the Mercedes-Benz Championship moved to Kapalua in 1999, but still shy of David Duval's nine-shot win in 1999 and Ernie Els' eight-stroke winning margin in 2003.

Ernie Els, winner of the 2003 Mercedes-Benz Championship, finished T6 in his first return trip to the Plantation Course since 2005. Els has eight career starts at the tournament, with six top-10 finishes (1998-T10, 2000-2nd, 2001-T3, 2003-1, 2005-T3, 2009-T6).

Of the 12 players making first appearance at the Mercedes-Benz Championship, Johnson Wagner enjoyed the best finish with a 10th-place showing. Dating back to 1999 – when the event moved to Kapalua – just two players have won the tournament in their first attempt (Chopra – 2008 and Sergio Garcia – 2002).

The complete list of first-timers at the Mercedes-Benz Championship: Brian Gay (T18), Greg Kraft (T29), Andres Romero (32nd), Johnson Wagner (10th), Anthony Kim (T2), Ryuji Imada (T18), Richard S. Johnson (T21), Chez Reavie (T12), Parker McLachlin (T24), Camilo Villegas (T12), Dustin Johnson (11th) and Marc Turnesa (33rd).

At the end of the first week of the Kodak Challenge, a first-of-its-kind competition with a \$1 million payout at the end of the season, Trevor Immelman, Johnson Wagner, Adam Scott, Zach Johnson and Anthony Kim share the lead at 2-under-par. There will be one designated Kodak Challenge hole (the 18th hole this week at Kapalua) at 24 different PGA TOUR tournaments, with players required to play at least 18 of the holes to be eligible. Players will count their lowest score relative to par on the hole made during an official competition round.

Davis Love III – a 20-time PGA TOUR winner – posted a T2 finish this week in his 13th appearance at the Mercedes-Benz Championship. It is the 30th runner-up finish of his career. In all, Love has nine top-10 finishes at the Mercedes-Benz Championship, including a win in 1993.

Defending champion Daniel Chopra recorded a T27 finish this week. In the history of the Mercedes-Benz Championship, six players have won the tournament in back-to-back years: Stuart Appleby (2004-05-06), Lanny Wadkins (1982-83), Tom Watson (1979-80), Arnold Palmer (1965-66), Jack Nicklaus (1963-64) and Gene Littler (1955-56-57).

Past champions of the Mercedes-Benz Championships and their respective finishes this week: 2008 winner Daniel Chopra (T27), 2007 champion Vijay Singh (T27), 2003 winner Ernie Els (T6) and 1993 champion Davis Love III (T2).

There were five bogey-free rounds on Sunday: Sean O'Hair (65), Davis Love III (67), Ernie Els (67), Zach Johnson (67) and Brian Gay (71).

The par-73 Plantation Course yielded a 69.758 average on Sunday, bringing the cumulative average for the week to 70.515. The par-4 first hole played the most difficult this week at 4.250, while the par-5 fifth hole played the easiest at 4.379.

The PGA TOUR heads to Honolulu next week for the Sony Open in Hawaii. Mercedes-Benz Championship winner Geoff Ogilvy is hoping to join Ernie Els (2003) as the only players to successfully capture titles at the Mercedes-Benz Championship and the Sony Open in the same year to open the PGA TOUR season.