

2015 Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament Notes

NAPLES, Fla. (December 8, 2015) – For the 15th consecutive year, the Franklin Templeton Shootout comes to Southwest Florida and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-man teams. The event is celebrating its 27th year on the PGA TOUR calendar. The tournament is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals, amateurs and fans:

<u>2015 Winners:</u> Six players in the field earned a total of seven victories during the 2014-2015 season: Charley Hoffman, J.B. Holmes, Zach Johnson, Danny Lee, Patrick Reed and Brandt Snedeker. Additionally, Graeme McDowell won the seventh event of the new 2015-2016 season at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba last month.

<u>World Rankings:</u> Nine players in the field are ranked among the top 50 in the Official World Golf Rankings: Patrick Reed (10th), Zach Johnson (13th), Matt Kuchar (20th), J.B. Holmes (24th), Billy Horschel (38th), Brandt Snedeker (44th), Danny Lee (47nd) and Charley Hoffman (50th). Daniel Berger is just outside the top 50 at 51st.

<u>FedExCup Champs:</u> Two players in the field have won the FedExCup title in the past four years. **Brandt Snedeker** won it in 2012 and **Billy Horschel** in 2014.

<u>Major Champions:</u> Five players have won major championship titles during their careers—Jason Dufner (2013 PGA Championship), Retief Goosen (2001 & 2004 U.S. Open), Zach Johnson (2007 Masters, 2015 The Open Championship), Graeme McDowell (2010 U.S. Open) and Mike Weir (2003 Masters).

<u>Total # of PGA TOUR Victories:</u> As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 113 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. **Kenny Perry** leads in individual titles with 14. Both **Steve Stricker** and **Zach Johnson** each have 12.

<u>Top-Five Finishes:</u> Kenny Perry has the most top-five career Shootout finishes among players in the field with nine. Perry shares the all-time record with **Greg Norman** and **Mark O'Meara.** Perry's playing partner this week is **Steve Stricker**, who has five top-five individual performances. The team with the most top-five finishes in tournament history is O'Meara and **Curtis Strange**. This twosome accumulated five solid performances between 1989 and 1996 including a victory in the inaugural Shootout.

<u>2015 Presidents Cup Participants:</u> Six players in the field were involved in the 2015 Presidents Cup matches. Here from the victorious United States' team are **J.B. Holmes**, **Zach Johnson**, **Matt Kuchar**, **Patrick Reed** and assistant captain **Steve Stricker**. **Danny Lee** was a member of the International team.

<u>Overall Team Competitions:</u> There are 14 players in the field who have competed in the Presidents Cup for an overall total of 41 appearances in the biennial match play event between the United States and an International team. South Africa's **Retief Goosen** has the most appearances with six. Ten players in the field have participated in the Ryder Cup matches between the United States and Europe. **Zach Johnson** and **Graeme McDowell** have the most appearances with four each.

<u>International Flavor:</u> Six different countries will be represented this week at the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Canada, Colombia, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, South Africa and United States.

<u>Most Appearances:</u> Kenny Perry will be making his 13th start in the Franklin Templeton Shootout, the most among the 24 players in the field. Perry has won the tournament three times, also the most among the players in the field. Charles Howell III, Rory Sabbatini and Steve Stricker will be making their eighth appearance in the tournament.

<u>First-Time Shootout Participants:</u> Five players will be competing for the first time in the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Daniel Berger, Charley Hoffman, Danny Lee, Hunter Mahan and Patrick Rodgers.

<u>First Time As Teammates:</u> Nine of the 12 teams in this year's Shootout will be together for the first time.

<u>Repeat Pairings:</u> Three teams return for this year's Franklin Templeton Shootout. Playing for the third consecutive year together are Harris English and Matt Kuchar, who have finished 1st and 2nd since 2013. Graeme McDowell and Gary Woodland are paired for the second consecutive year after finishing T5 last year. Charles Howell III and Rory Sabbatini will also be playing together for the second time. The last time they were a team they finished 2nd in 2011.

<u>Rookie Winners:</u> Eleven players have won the Franklin Templeton Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O'Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014).

<u>Format Reminder:</u> The order of formats for each competitive round was modified in 2014 and is Scramble (Thursday), Modified Alternate Shot (Friday) and Better Ball (Saturday).

<u>TV Schedule:</u> This year, Golf Channel will televise Thursday (1-4 PM ET Live) and Friday (1-4 PM ET Live) and FOX will broadcast Saturday's final round which will be live from 1-5 PM ET.