



First-round results from the \$3.1 million Franklin Templeton Shootout...Thursday, December 10, 2015...7,271-yard, par 36-36--72, Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples, FL...54-hole PGA TOUR-sanctioned event featuring 12 two-man teams with a different format each day...Today's format was a Scramble...Thursday's weather: Partly cloudy with highs in the low-80s. Variable winds 7-12 mph. Friday's forecast -- sunny and warm with highs in the low-80s.

1.	Harris English/Matt Kuchar	29-29—58 (-14)
T2.	Billy Horschel/Hunter Mahan	31-28—59 (-13)
	Graeme McDowell/Gary Woodland	30-29—59 (-13)
T4.	Daniel Berger/Charley Hoffman	30-30—60 (-12)
	Camilo Villegas/Cameron Tringale	29-31—60 (-12)
T6.	J.B. Holmes/Patrick Reed	31-30—61 (-11)
	Jason Duffner/Brandt Snedeker	31-30—61 (-11)
8.	Charles Howell III/Rory Sabbatini	34-28—62 (-10)
9.	Retief Goosen/Danny Lee	33-30—63 (-9)
10.	Zach Johnson/Patrick Rodgers	32-32—64 (-8)
T11.	Sean O'Hair/Mike Weir	34-31—65 (-7)
	Kenny Perry/Steve Stricker	33-32—65 (-7)

First Round News & Notes

- Harris English and Matt Kuchar continued their torrid play at the Franklin Templeton Shootout. The pair posted a score of 14-under-par 58 to grab the first-round lead at the 27th annual event. The pair won this event in 2013 and finished second a year ago at the Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort. In seven rounds at the course, English and Kuchar are a combined 79-under-par. The teams of Graeme McDowell/Gary Woodland and Billy Horschel/Hunter Mahan are tied for second, one stroke back.
- When Harris English and Matt Kuchar won this event in 2013 they finished with a 54-hole score of 34-under-par 182 and a record-tying seven strokes ahead of Retief Goosen and Freddie Jacobson. A year ago, they finished with a score of 31-under-par 185 and finished one stroke shy of 2014 champions Jason Day and Cameron Tringale.
- English and Kuchar's round on Thursday included 10 birdies and two eagles and they are a combined 45-under-par in the scramble format in their three years as a team.
- Nine players in this year's field are ranked among the top 50 in the Official World Golf Rankings: Patrick Reed (10th), Zach Johnson (13th), Matt Kuchar (20th), J.B. Holmes (24th), Billy Horschel (38th), Brandt Snedeker (44th), Danny Lee (47nd) and Charley Hoffman (50th). Daniel Berger is just outside the top 50 at 51st.

- Two players in the field have won the FedExCup title in the past four years. Brandt Snedeker won it in 2012 and Billy Horschel in 2014.
- Five players have won major championship titles during their careers—Jason Dufner (2013 PGA Championship), Retief Goosen (2001 & 2004 U.S. Open), Zach Johnson (2007 Masters, 2015 The Open Championship), Graeme McDowell (2010 U.S. Open) and Mike Weir (2003 Masters).
- As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 113 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. Kenny Perry leads in individual titles with 14. Both Steve Stricker and Zach Johnson each have 12.
- Kenny Perry has the most top-five career Shootout finishes among players in the field with nine. Perry shares the all-time record with Greg Norman and Mark O'Meara. Perry's playing partner this week is Steve Stricker, who has five top-five individual performances. The team with the most top-five finishes in tournament history is O'Meara and Curtis Strange. This twosome accumulated five solid performances between 1989 and 1996 including a victory in the inaugural Shootout.
- Six players in the field were involved in the 2015 Presidents Cup matches. Here from the victorious United States' team are J.B. Holmes, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed and assistant captain Steve Stricker. Danny Lee was a member of the International team.
- There are 14 players in the field who have competed in the Presidents Cup for an overall total of 41 appearances in the biennial match play event between the United States and an International team. South Africa's Retief Goosen has the most appearances with six. Ten players in the field have participated in the Ryder Cup matches between the United States and Europe. Zach Johnson and Graeme McDowell have the most appearances with four each.
- Seven different countries are represented in this year's field -- Canada, Colombia, South Korea, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, South Africa and United States.
- Kenny Perry will be making his 13th appearance in the event, the most by any of the 24 players in the field. Perry is a three-time winner of the event. He won with John Huston in 2005, with Scott Hoch in 2008 and with Sean O'Hair in 2012. Perry is an eight-time winner on the Champions Tour.
- Five players will be competing in the event for the first time. That group includes Daniel Berger, Danny Lee, Charley Hoffman, Hunter Mahan and Patrick Rodgers.
- Nine of the 12 teams in this year's Shootout will be together for the first time.
- Eleven players have won the Franklin Templeton Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O'Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014).
- On Friday immediately following play, the Naples, Marco Island and Everglades Convention & Visitors Bureau Family Golf Clinic will be held at the Tiburón practice facility at approximately 4:00 p.m. The instructional clinic will be hosted by Greg Norman.
- Friday's second round will be televised live on Golf Channel from 12:30-4:00 p.m.