



### **On-site PGA TOUR media contact:**

Doug Milne, Media Official (904) 614-0657 dougmilne@pgatourhq.com

## 2018 Barbasol Championship pre-tournament notes

Dates: July 16-22, 2018

Where: Keene Trace Golf Club (Champions Trace)

City, State: Nicholasville, Kentucky Par/Yards: Par-72/7,328 yards (36-36)

**Field:** 132

**2017 champion:** Grayson Murray **Purse:** \$3,500,000/\$630,000 (winner) **FedExCup:** 300 points to the winner

Format: 72-hole stroke play

Website: www.barbasolchampionship.com

Twitter: @BarbasolPGATOUR

## **PGA TOUR makes return to Kentucky**

Following three years at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Auburn/Opelika, Alabama, the fourth contesting of the Barbasol Championship moves to the Bluegrass State of Kentucky. While the PGA Championship has been contested three times in Kentucky, most recently, 2014, the 2018 Barbasol Championship marks the first cosponsored PGA Tour stop in Kentucky since the Kentucky Derby Open in 1959. Gary Player won his first PGA TOUR event at the Kentucky Derby Open in 1958. The first three Barbasol Championships were won by Scott Piercy (2015), Aaron Baddeley (2016) and Grayson Murray (2017).

# The Barbasol Championship and the FedExCup Playoffs

With only five weeks (seven events) remaining before the FedExCup Playoffs, the Barbasol Championship (300 points to the winner) will again play an important role players qualifying for the first Playoffs event at THE NORTHERN TRUST. The first three champions, Scott Piercy (2015), Aaron Baddeley (2016) and Grayson Murray (2017) finished 22<sup>nd</sup>, 69<sup>th</sup> and 66<sup>th</sup>, respectively, in the final FedExCup standings.

### A look at the 2017 Barbasol Championship

In the third Barbasol Championship, Grayson Murray posted back-to-back, 7-under 64s in rounds two and three to get to within one stroke of Scott Stallings' lead of 19-under 194. On Sunday, Murray's eagle at the par-5 13<sup>th</sup> hole, coupled with a birdie at the par-4 16<sup>th</sup> hole resulted in a one-stroke victory over Indiana native Chad Collins. The victory marked Murray's first on the PGA TOUR.

## Player Notes Billy Horschel

- 2104 FedExCup champion scheduled to make his first start in the Barbasol Championship
- Five-time winner on the PGA TOUR, including and most recently this year's Zurich Classic of New Orleans with teammate Scott Piercy. Piercy won the inaugural Barbasol Championship in 2015
- Last individual TOUR title came at the 2017 AT&T Byron Nelson in a playoff over Jason Day
- In last start before this week, finished T17 at the Quicken Loans National

## **Brittany Lincicome**



- Playing this year on a sponsor exemption, Lincicome will become only the fifth woman in PGA TOUR
  history to play alongside the men (Babe Zahraias, Annika Sorenstam, Suzy Whaley and Michelle Wie).
- 32-year-old has eight career LPGA titles and has represented the United States at the Solheim Cup on six occasions.
- In addition to her January victory, Lincicome has four top-10 finishes this year including a runner up at last week's Marathon Classic.
- Selected for the exemption for not only her back-to-back victories at the Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic in 2017 and 2018, but also her unique place as the first professional athlete to be signed by Perio, Inc., the parent company of the Barbasol brand in 2009.

### Davis Love III/Dru Love

- Davis, a 21-time PGA TOUR winner and his son Davis "Dru" Love IV will be playing in the Barbasol Championship for the second-straight season
- Dru will be making his 13th start on the PGA TOUR this week, and 12th as a professional
- · Davis was induced into the World Golf Hall of Fame last September
- Davis served as the U.S. Team Captain at the 2012 and 2016 Ryder Cup
- Davis was the winner of the 1997 PGA Championship (Winged Foot)

#### **Hunter Mahan**

- Six-time PGA TOUR winner is poised to make his third-consecutive start in this year's Barbasol Championship (2016/MC, 2017/T64)
- In addition to his six TOUR titles, competed on four Presidents Cup Teams, three Ryder Cup Teams
- Advanced to the TOUR Championship eight times and competed in the most 35 total Playoffs events
- Both top-20 finishes this season came in first two starts (Safeway Open/T13, Sanderson Farms Championship/T18

### **Players with Kentucky Ties**

The 2018 Barbasol Championship will feature a host of players with ties to the Bluegrass State.

- The University of Louisville's Derek Fathauer will be making his fourth start in the Barbasol Championship this week. Fathauer, who joined the PGA TOUR in 2009, retained his card for this season by virtue of his 116<sup>th</sup>-place finish on last year's FedExCup points list. In his second start of this season, he finished inside the top-10 (T10) at the Sanderson Farms Championship.
- 2017-18 PGA TOUR rookie Matt Atkins graduated from Apollo High School in Owensboro, KY in 2009.
   After Winning the El Bosque Mexico Championship on last year's Web.com Tour, he finished 28<sup>th</sup> on the Web.com Tour priority list to earn his rookie card for this season on TOUR.
- Lexington native and Morehead State University grad Josh Teater, who played on the PGA TOUR in 2009 and 2010, will be making his second start in the Barbasol Championship (2015/77<sup>th</sup>). On the Web.com Tour this season, Teater finished T2 at the Nashville Golf Open.
- 2018 University of Kentucky graduates Cooper Musselman and Chip McDaniel will make their professional debuts at this week's Barbasol Championship. Musselman is the reigning Kentucky Open champion, while McDaniel is the owner of two Kentucky Amateur titles (2013, 2017).

### **Tournament Sponsor**

Barbasol has a long-standing connection with golf that dates back to the 1920s and 30s, when advertising campaigns featured product endorsements from celebrated PGA TOUR golfers Johnny Farrell and Craig Wood. Again in 2018, Barbasol is proud to sponsor the Barbasol Championship, with wide-reaching involvement across several levels of the sport. The brand sponsors talented professional golfers on the PGA TOUR, Web.com Tour





and PGA TOUR Champions, and supports collegiate golf by presenting the Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year Award. Barbasol-sponsored professional golfers have included Ryan Armour, Chad Campbell, Ben Curtis, Chris DiMarco, Kyle Reifers, Brian Stuard, Robert Streb, Bronson Burgoon, Joel Dahmen, Martin Piller, Russ Cochran, Neal Lancaster and Loren Roberts.