



# **2019 Travelers Championship Pre-Tournament notes**

PGA TOUR Media Contact: John Bush, johnbush@pgatourhq.com, 904-923-7419

**Dates:** June 17-23, 2019 **Where:** Hartford, Connecticut **Course:** TPC River Highlands

**Par/Yardage:** 35-35—70/6,841 yards **Defending champion:** Bubba Watson

Purse: \$7,200,000 (\$1,296,000/winner); FedExCup: 500 points to the winner

Field size: 156 Format: 72-hole stroke play

### Things to Know

Bubba Watson seeks fourth Travelers Championship victory to tie the late Billy Casper for most wins at the event

- Phil Mickelson, the only back-to-back Travelers Championship winner, will play for the first time since 2003
- World No. 1 Brooks Koepka will make his fourth start at the event
- Notable sponsor exemptions include Viktor Hovland (professional debut), Collin Morikawa, Justin Suh and Matthew Wolff (professional debut) – the former top four in the World Amateur Golf Ranking

#### Notes on the Field

- Three of the top 10 in the FedExCup standings: Brooks Koepka (3), Patrick Cantlay (7) and Paul Casey (8)
- Three FedExCup champions: Brandt Snedeker (2012), Jordan Spieth (2015), Justin Thomas (2017)
- Five of the top 10 in the Official World Golf Ranking: Koepka (1), Francesco Molinari (6), Justin Thomas (7), Patrick Cantlay (8), Bryson DeChambeau (10)
- Nine past champions of the Travelers Championship: Phil Mickelson (2001, 2002), J.J. Henry (2006), Hunter Mahan (2007), Freddie Jacobson (2011), Marc Leishman (2012), Kevin Streelman (2014), Russell Knox (2016), Jordan Spieth (2017), Bubba Watson (2010, 2015, 2018)

### A look back at Bubba Watson's victory at the 2018 Travelers Championship

Pos.	Player	R1	R2	R3	R4	Total
1	Bubba Watson	70	63	67	63	263 (-17)
T2	Stewart Cink	68	68	68	62	266 (-14)
T2	Beau Hossler	65	67	68	66	266 (-14)
T2	Paul Casey	65	67	62	72	266 (-14)
T2	J.B. Holmes	66	68	65	67	266 (-14)

- Three-time Travelers Championship winner (2010, 2015, 2018); first of his 12 TOUR wins came at the event in 2010
- Victory at the 2018 Travelers Championship was his 12<sup>th</sup> on the PGA TOUR; coming in his 288<sup>th</sup> TOUR start at the age of 39 years, 7 months, 19 days
- Seeking to tie Billy Casper for the most Travelers Championship wins; multiple winners include Casper (4), Watson (3), Arnold Palmer (2), Paul Azinger (2), Phil Mickelson (2), Peter Jacobsen (2), Stewart Cink (2)
- Began the final round in 2018 six behind Paul Casey's 16-under lead; en route to 2010 Travelers Championship win, was also six strokes back after 54 holes before winning in sudden death over Corey Pavin and Scott Verplank
- 39 of 44 rounds played at Travelers Championship are par or better, with zero over-par rounds on the weekend

## The Travelers Championship and the FedExCup/Wyndham Rewards

- The Travelers Championship is the 35<sup>th</sup> event in the 2018-19 PGA TOUR Season
- All 12 winners of the Travelers Championship in the FedExCup era qualified for the Playoffs with nine advancing to the Playoffs finale, the TOUR Championship in Atlanta
- In each of the last four seasons, the Travelers Championship winner entered the week 12<sup>th</sup> or better in the FedExCup standings (Bubba Watson/12/2015, Russell Knox/7/2016, Jordan Spieth/6/2017, Bubba Watson/10/2018)
- No player has ever won the Travelers Championship and the FedExCup in the same season

## Wyndham Rewards Top 10 - Current top 10 in the FedExCup standings

Position	Player	Points	Wins	Top-10s	<b>Points Behind</b>	Starts	<b>Projected Bonus</b>
1	Matt Kuchar	2,287	2	8		17	\$2 million
2	Rory McIlroy	2,195	2	11	92	14	\$1.5 million
3	Brooks Koepka	2,193	2	6	94	14	\$1.2 million
4	Xander Schauffele	1,817	2	5	470	16	\$1.1 million
5	Gary Woodland	1,789	1	8	498	18	\$1.0 million
6	Dustin Johnson	1,631	1	7	656	13	\$850,000
7	Patrick Cantlay	1,607	1	8	680	15	\$700,000
8	Paul Casey	1,441	1	5	846	16	\$600,000
9	Justin Rose	1,308	1	6	979	12	\$550,000
10	Rickie Fowler	1,285	1	5	1,002	15	\$500,000

# **Additional Player Notes**

- After a runner-up finish last week as he sought his third consecutive U.S. Open title, World No. 1 **Brooks Koepka** returns for his fourth start at the Travelers Championship (T51/2014, T9/2016, T19/2018)
- **Paul Casey** lost a four-shot 54-hole lead to finish T2 at the 2018 Travelers Championship, his third top-five finish in four starts at TPC River Highlands (2<sup>nd</sup>/2015, T5/2017, T2/2018)
- Jason Day returns for his fifth appearance at Travelers Championship (T27/2008, T18/2014, MC/2017, T12/2018)
- Bryson DeChambeau will compete for the fourth time at the event (T47/2016, T26/2017, T9/2018)
- **Phil Mickelson**, winner of the 2001 and 2002 Travelers Championship, returns to the event for the first time since a T58 finish in 2003; Mickelson is the only player to successfully defend his title at the event
- Since returning to competition following a wrist injury, **Justin Thomas** has two missed cuts in last three starts (RBC Canadian Open/T20); makes his sixth start at Travelers Championship (T30/2013, MC/2015, T3/2016, MC/2017, T56/2018); final-round 62 in 2016 (T3) is low score in 16 rounds TPC River Highlands
- **Patrick Cantlay**, winner of the 2019 Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide, will make his fifth start at the event; Cantlay's second-round 60 at the 2011 Travelers Championship is the lowest score by an amateur in PGA TOUR history
- **Tommy Fleetwood** will make his tournament debut; Fleetwood has a runner-up (Zurich Classic of New Orleans with partner Sergio Garcia) and a T3 (Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard) during the 2018-19 season

#### **Young Stars**

The Travelers Championship has a long history of awarding sponsor exemptions to up-and-coming players. Since 2007, players including Webb Simpson, Rickie Fowler, Morgan Hoffmann, Patrick Cantlay, Justin Thomas, Bryson DeChambeau and Jon Rahm have been granted exemptions by the tournament. This year's crop includes a stellar foursome of the top-four ranked amateur golfers in the world entering the 2019 NCAA Championships. Two players will make their professional debuts, Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State) and Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State), while Collin Morikawa (Cal) and Justin Suh (USC), each made their professional debuts earlier this summer. Hovland (T12) and Morikawa (T35) both competed in the U.S. Open, where Hovland became the first low amateur at the Masters and the U.S. Open in the same season since 1998.

#### **Miscellaneous Travelers Championship Notes**

- Six of the last 13 winners of the Travelers Championship have been first-time TOUR champions: J.J. Henry (2006), Hunter Mahan (2007), Bubba Watson (2010), Freddie Jacobson (2011), Marc Leishman (2012) and Ken Duke (2013)
- A total of 17 players, including six in the last 13 years, have picked up their first TOUR win at the Travelers Championship: Bob Toski (1953), Charles Sifford (1967), Don Bies (1975), Tim Norris (1982), Phil Blackmar (1985), Mac O'Grady (1986), Mark Brooks (1988), Billy Ray Brown (1991), Stewart Cink (1997), Olin Browne (1998), Brent Geiberger (1999), J.J. Henry (2006), Hunter Mahan (2007), Bubba Watson (2010), Freddie Jacobson (2011), Marc Leishman (2012) and Ken Duke (2013)
- Seven of the past 15 outcomes at TPC River Highlands have been decided through a playoff (2004/Woody Austin, 2005/Brad Faxon, 2007/Hunter Mahan, 2010/Bubba Watson, 2013/Ken Duke, 2015/Bubba Watson, 2017/Jordan Spieth
- Past champions include Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino, Phil Mickelson and Greg Norman
- Jim Furyk's final-round 58 in 2016 is the lowest 18-hole score in PGA TOUR history
- The best 72-hole score at the Travelers Championship is 258 held by Kenny Perry (2009)
- The largest come-from-behind win is seven strokes by Brad Faxon in 2005