



2023 Charles Schwab Cup Championship

Final-Round Notes Sunday, November 12, 2023

Phoenix Country Club | Phoenix, Arizona 28th of 28 PGA TOUR Champions events in the 2023 Season 3rd of 3 events in the 2023 Charles Schwab Cup Playoffs



Media Contacts:

Julie Nelson, <u>julienelson@pgatourhq.com</u>, 281-961-3569 Doug Milne, <u>dougmilne@pgatourhq.com</u>, 904-614-0657 Connor Stange, <u>connorstange@pgatourhq.com</u>, 402-560-3758 Chris King, <u>chrisking@pgatourhq.com</u>, 720-470-2852

Course Setup: Par 71 / 6,810 yards
Round 4 Scoring Average: 69.886
Cumulative Scoring Average: 69.214

• Weather: Sunny with temps in the low-80s and winds E at 5-10 mph

• Interviews: Transcripts | Content Hub

Final Results

PGATOURMedia.com

• Charles Schwab Cup Standings

| | Player | To Par | Scores | Schwab Cup | Points Earned | Total Points |
|----|--------------------|--------|-------------------|------------|----------------------|---------------------|
| 1 | Steven Alker | -18 | 67-64-65-70 – 266 | 2nd | 1,056,000 | 3,173,127 |
| T2 | Stephen Ames | -17 | 65-68-69-65 – 267 | 6th | 552,000 | 2,470,874 |
| T2 | Ernie Els | -17 | 63-70-69-65 – 267 | 3rd | 552,000 | 2,642,983 |
| T4 | Richard Green | -14 | 69-64-71-66 – 270 | 12th | 330,750 | 1,591,351 |
| T4 | Vijay Singh | -14 | 70-66-66-68 – 270 | 13th | 330,750 | 1,581,479 |
| T4 | Thongchai Jaidee | -14 | 65-67-69-69 – 270 | 16th | 330,750 | 1,433,094 |
| T4 | Padraig Harrington | -14 | 69-63-69-69 – 270 | 4th | 330,750 | 2,614,746 |

Things to Know

- 54-hole leader **Steven Alker** held off final-round charges from **Ernie Els** and **Stephen Ames** to win the Charles Schwab Cup Championship by one stroke. Alker, who won the Charles Schwab Cup last year, finished second in the season-long race this year.
- Steve Stricker capped his historic six-win season by capturing his first Charles Schwab Cup. Stricker, who led the Charles Schwab Cup standings after 25 of the 28 weeks during the 2023 season, set the single-season records for stroke average (67.54) and money earned (\$3,986,063) on PGA TOUR Champions.

Steven Alker, 67-64-65-70 - 266 (-18)

- The 52-year-old earned his seventh win on PGA TOUR Champions (53 starts)
- Earned his second win of the 2023 season (20 starts)
 - Previous win: Insperity Invitational (April 28-30)
- Becomes the sixth multi-time winner this season on PGA TOUR Champions, joining Steve Stricker (6), Stephen Ames (4), David Toms (2), Bernhard Langer (2) and Padraig Harrington (2)
- Finished No. 2 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings after winning the Charles Schwab Cup last year in his first full season on PGA TOUR Champions
- Has finished in the top 3 in all three of his appearances at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship
 - Previous finishes at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship: 2nd (2021), 3rd (2022)
- Matched his second-lowest 72-hole score on PGA TOUR Champions (266)
 - o Lowest: 265 (2022 Charles Schwab Cup Championship)
- Improved to 4-for-6 when leading/co-leading entering the final round on PGA TOUR Champions





Other Notes

- **Stephen Ames** and World Golf Hall of Fame member **Ernie Els** matched the low round of the day with 6-under 65. Both players finished T2 at 17-under.
 - This was Els' 15th top-10 finish of the 2023 season, tying Steve Stricker for the most among all players on PGA TOUR Champions this year. Els finished No. 3 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings.
 - This was Ames' sixth top-3 finish of the 2023 season, four of which were victories. Ames finished No. 6 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings.
- Four players finished T4 at 14-under: defending champion Padraig Harrington, 2018 champion Vijay Singh, reigning Q-School Final Stage medalist Richard Green and Thongchai Jaidee.
 - o Harrington finished No. 4 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings.
- Six-time Charles Schwab Cup winner **Bernhard Langer** finished T8 at 13-under for the No. 5 spot in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings.
 - This is Langer's 13th time in 15 full seasons finishing in the top 5 of the Charles Schwab Cup standings.

2023 Charles Schwab Cup Standings (Final)

| Finish | Player | Total Points | Bonus |
|--------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------|
| 1 | Steve Stricker | 3,986,063 | \$1,000,000 |
| 2 | Steven Alker | 3,173,127 | \$500,000 |
| 3 | Ernie Els | 2,642,983 | \$300,000 |
| 4 | Padraig Harrington | 2,614,746 | \$200,000 |
| 5 | Bernhard Langer | 2,532,490 | \$100,000 |

Steve Stricker (2023 Charles Schwab Cup winner)

- Captured his first Charles Schwab Cup
 - o Previous best Charles Schwab Cup finish: 4th (2022)
 - Joined PGA TOUR Champions in 2017
- Became the 12th different player to win the Charles Schwab Cup in its 22-season history
- Led the Charles Schwab Cup standings after 25 weeks of the 28-week season
 - Other players to lead for at least 25 weeks during a season include Bernhard Langer (2014) and Hale Irwin (2002)
- The 56-year-old earned six wins during the 2023 season (16 starts)
 - o Ranks T9 on the PGA TOUR Champions single-season wins list
 - Matched the second-most single-season wins since 2000
- Finished in the top 10 in 15 of his 16 starts in 2023, including 11 top-2 finishes
- Set the single-season record for stroke average on PGA TOUR Champions (67.54)
 - o Previous record: 67.96 (Fred Couples, 2010)
- Set the single-season record for money earned on PGA TOUR Champions (\$3,986,063)
 - Previous record: \$3,677,359 (Bernhard Langer, 2017)
- Matched the single-season record for major wins on PGA TOUR Champions (3)

Charles Schwab Cup Winners

| Season | Champion |
|--------|---------------|
| 2001 | Allen Doyle |
| 2002 | Hale Irwin |
| 2003 | Tom Watson |
| 2004 | Hale Irwin |
| 2005 | Tom Watson |
| 2006 | Jay Haas |
| 2007 | Loren Roberts |
| 2008 | Jay Haas |
| 2009 | Loren Roberts |

Page 3 of 3 | Final-Round Media Notes





| 2010 | Bernhard Langer |
|---------|------------------|
| 2011 | Tom Lehman |
| 2012 | Tom Lehman |
| 2013 | Kenny Perry |
| 2014 | Bernhard Langer |
| 2015 | Bernhard Langer |
| 2016 | Bernhard Langer |
| 2017 | Kevin Sutherland |
| 2018 | Bernhard Langer |
| 2019 | Scott McCarron |
| 2020-21 | Bernhard Langer |
| 2022 | Steven Alker |
| 2023 | Steve Stricker |